Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

Today I noticed a dusty object under some paperwork on my desk. To my surprise it was my trusty old Dell XPS 1530. I Immediately powered it up and logged in (almost forgot my own password) and upon getting through the welcome screen in Vista I was greeted with a large amount of notification as basically everything was out of date. Since March I’ve been using a new Macbook Pro that I’ve also install Windows 7 on. I begin to update everything like a good little user and a thought comes to mind. “Why don’t you just get rid of this thing?” I’m currently going through the motions of finding all the manuals, chargers, software CD’s, and etc. for this thing and I’m beginning to feel a bit nostalgic. I had some really good times with this PC. I bought it back in 2007 and it’s taken me through some of the best games I’ve ever played (Portal, TF2, Oblivion, Demigod, MW1 & MW2, Sins, and many more), not to mention being an excellent travel companion. Although it’s not the lightest of laptop it always gave me great battery life and performed like a champ. I’ve also got some pretty sweet stickers on the back. It’ll be on Ebay/Craiglist sometime this week. I might shed a tear between now and then.

Leave a Reply

